List of 12th Parliament MPs from Naogaon


Five MPs were elected from Naogaon district in the 12th National Election of Bangladesh held on January 07, 2024. Which is also known as the Bangladesh General National Election 2024. Naogaon District has 6 parliamentary seats out of 300 in the National Assembly (জাতীয় সংসদ). The Election Commission postponed polling in Naogaon-2 constituency after the death of an independent candidate in the January 7 election. As a result, elections were held in 299 out of 300 constituencies in the whole of Bangladesh. Later, 12th February 2024 was fixed as the date for the election in that constituency.

Ministers from Naogaon

From Naogaon-1 parliament seat Sadhan Chandra Majumder was re-elected as an MP in 12th National Election and appointed as Food Minister for the second time. He was the only representative from the district in the 12th Cabinet of Ministers until 1 March, when another MP from the Naogaon-2 seat, Shahiduzzaman Sarker, joined the Cabinet as a Minister of State for Planning. As a result, Naogaon district now has one full Minister and one State Minister in the Cabinet of Ministers.

Naogaon Server Station and District Election Office that responsible for selecting the representatives of constituencies by conducting elections.
Naogaon Server Station and District Election Office (জেলা নির্বাচন অফিস) under the Bangladesh Election Commission (EC), Constituencies get their representatives through elections under the supervision of this office. Photo taken by Rumon Anam in 2014 AD

First-Time MPs From Naogaon

During the 2024 elections, the landscape of MPs from the 11th election shifted, with 3 failing to secure their parliamentary seats while 3 newcomers joined the ranks. So far, Sourendra Nath Chakraborty from Naogaon-3, S. M. Brohanie Sultan Mahmud Gama from Naogaon-4 and Md. Omar Faruk Sumon from Naogaon-6 constituencies will represent Naogaon as MPs for the first time in the Bangladesh National Assembly.

Mohadevpur Upazila election office at night, under Naogaon-3 constituency.
The Mohadevpur Upazila election office, illuminated at night. It serves the area of the Naogaon-3 constituency.

Final List of 2024 MPs in Naogaon

National Assembly elections were held in 5 out of 6 constituencies of Naogaon district due to suspension of election in Naogaon-2 seat (Dhamoirhat and Patnitala). However, on February 12, 2024, the scheduled election was held in Naogaon No. 2 Constituency (National No. 47). As a result, this time the list of total 6 Members of Parliament (MP) is finally being added to this list.

Sadhan Chandra Majumder (Bengali: সাধন চন্দ্র মজুমদার)

  • Constituency: Naogaon-1 (46)
  • Party: Bangladesh Awami League
  • Term: 4th
  • Age: 74 years (as of 2024)
  • Date of Birth: 17.07.1950
  • Present Address: Flat# 804, Building# 05, Parliament Member Residence Bhaban (NAM Bhaban), Manik Mia Avenue, Dhaka; 33, Minto Road, Ramna, Dhaka.
  • Contact: 01711894823, 01776083784 Call
  • Email:,

Shahiduzzaman Sarker (Bengali: শহীদুজ্জামান সরকার)

  • Constituency: Naogaon-2 (47)
  • Party: Bangladesh Awami League
  • Term: 5th
  • Age: 69 years (as of 2024)
  • Date of Birth: 13.12.1955
  • Present Address: Flat: 501, Building: 4, Sangsad Shadashya Bhaban, Manik Mian Avenue, Sher-e-Bangla Nagar, Dhaka-1207.
  • Contact: 8171339, 01712090509 Call
  • Email:,

Sourendra Nath Chakraborty (Bengali: সৌরেন্দ্র নাথ চক্রবর্ত্তী)

  • Constituency: Naogaon-3 (48)
  • Party: Bangladesh Awami League
  • Term: First
  • Age: 53 years (as of 2024)
  • Date of Birth: 15.06.1961
  • Contact: 01711171935 Call
  • Email:

S. M. Brohanie Sultan Mahmud Gama (Bengali: এস এম ব্রহানী সুলতান মামুদ গামা)

  • Constituency: Naogaon-4 (49)
  • Party: Independent
  • Term: 1st
  • Age: 58 years (as of 2024)
  • Date of Birth: 19.08.1966
  • Contact: 01711410690 Call
  • Email:

Nizam Uddin Jalil John (Bengali: নিজাম উদ্দিন জলিল জন)

  • Constituency: Naogaon-5 (50)
  • Party: Bangladesh Awami League
  • Term: Second
  • Age: 33 years (as of 2024)
  • Date of Birth: 09.08.1991
  • Present Address: House#17, Road#55, Gulshan-2, Dhaka
  • Contact: 01711520353 Call
  • Email:,

Md. Omar Faruk Sumon (Bengali: মো. ওমর ফারুক সুমন)

  • Constituency: Naogaon-6 (51)
  • Party: Independent
  • Term: 1st
  • Age: 44 years (as of 2024)
  • Date of Birth: 01.04.1980
  • Contact: 01717671419 Call
  • Email:

MP ADV. Omar Faruk Sumon receiving floral greetings for becoming MP, surrounded by teachers in Naogaon-6.
MP ADV. Omar Faruk Sumon, in the center with glasses, being congratulated by local college teachers in Naogaon-6 for being an MP in the General Election of 2024. Photo taken in January, 2024 AD.
Share your love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.